image

Smart Tool

Intelligent tools for the networked production of tomorrow. A contribution to the future project "Industry 4.0"

http://www.smarttool.tu-darmstadt.de

High wages and demanding environmental standards prohit that manufacturing companies engage solely in a price competition. For a long time they advertise throughout the world high quality and well thought-out products to customers. But in the global competition other suppliers bring solutions to the world market. Both consumer products and capital goods are now increasingly differentiated and are subject to unpredictable fluctuations in demand, so that now also production and logistics processes respond with full dynamic. With today's status quo - centrally controlled processes - this is hardly possible.

The upcoming requirements can only be met by Cyber-physical systems (CPS), which use integrated intelligent sensors to perceive their environment and actuators with which they can influence them. Cyber-physical systems can be integrated into products, machinery and equipment that can adapt through self-optimization and reconfiguration to changing jobs and working conditions. Their use represents a paradigm shift in the production, which is pushed by the call "Intelligent networking of production - A contribution to the project of the future industrial 4.0". Germany aims to become the worldwide leading supplier of Cyber-Physical Systems.

Tool cycle 4.0: With transparency to efficiency

The increasing number of product variants and the increasingly frequent product changeovers cause in machining manufacturing for the production of components, eg the mechanical engineering industry, an increasing number of different tools and increasingly tool change on the processing machines required. Due to the various activities in the tool cycle, as the tool procurement or installation services, and their need for information, which are necessary for providing the tools, the effort required has increased to such an extent that the costs make up nearly a quarter of the production cost. A key obstacle to the realization of existing optimization potential is the lack of information transparency in the tool cycle due to autonomous, heterogeneous IT systems, where tool-related data is stored (eg, enterprise resource planning systems or machine control) or simply the frequent lack of necessary data, such as the current location where the tools.

Objectives of the project:
Project goal is the cyber-physical system Smart Tool, consisting of an intelligent tool system and its interaction partners in the tool cycle, how to develop machine tool or instrument. The intelligent tool system is the core innovation of the project.

Central to the success of the project, the economic design of intelligent tool system consisting of toolholder with integrated sensors, logic and transmission units and the actual tool with integrated storage medium. On the software side are an event-based information architecture and an interface in the form of an embedded system to develop to produce crosslinking of the tool cycle.
Here, a track and trace system is simultaneously realized, the self-tuning based on the generated tracing data in the tool logistics, for example, Lagerortbestimmung for short transport distances, and tool procurement (ordering strategy) allowed. To validate the developed system demonstrators are manufactured and tested in pilot areas of the user companies.
The intelligent tool system acts in the tool cycle as communication and information source for the interaction partner, so that planners know little effort and reliably where and in what condition the tool systems are in production. The enclosed information gaps in networked tool cycle will be used to implement an automated decision support for various activities, such as the selection of an optimal order strategy. A transfer of the system to other wear-tools, such as injection molding tools, or for the provision of other resources in companies is in principle possible.

Kick-off-Meeting
Kick-off-Meeting (11/2013)


Project partners:

  • Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG, System Manufacturing
  • Siemens AG, Energy Sector, Fossil Power Generation Division
  • G├╝hring oHG, research and development
  • E. Zoller GmbH & Co. KG
  • Haimer GmbH
  • EINS GmbH
  • TU Darmstadt, IES (Integrated Electronic Systems) & PTW (Production Management, Technology and Machine Tools)
Link to project website: www.smarttool-forschungsprojekt.de

Bild

SmartTool

Intelligente Werkzeuge für die vernetzte Fertigung von morgen. Ein Beitrag zum Zukunftsprojekt „Industrie 4.0“

http://www.smarttool.tu-darmstadt.de

Hohe Löhne und Gehälter sowie anspruchsvolle Umweltstandards verhindern, dass sich die produzierenden Unternehmen unseres Landes auf einen reinen Preiswettbewerb einlassen können. Schon lange werben sie mit hoher Qualität und durchdachten Produkten weltweit um Kunden. Doch im globalen Wettbewerb holen andere Anbieter auf dem Weltmarkt auf. Sowohl Konsumprodukte als auch Investitionsgüter werden nun immer stärker differenziert und unterliegen unvorhersehbaren Bedarfsschwankungen, so dass mittlerweile auch Produktions- und Logistikprozesse umfassend dynamisch reagieren müssen. Mit dem heutigen Status quo – zentral gesteuerten Prozessen – ist dies kaum möglich.

Umsetzbar werden die kommenden Anforderungen nur mittels Cyber-Physischer Systeme (CPS) sein, die über intelligente Sensoren zur Wahrnehmung ihrer Umwelt und über Aktoren, mit denen sie diese beeinflussen können, verfügen. Cyber-Physische Systeme können in Produkte, Maschinen und Anlagen integriert werden, die sich nun durch Selbstoptimierung und Rekonfiguration an sich ändernde Aufträge und Betriebsbedingungen anpassen können. Ihr Einsatz stellt einen Paradigmenwechsel in der Produktion dar, der durch die Bekanntmachung „Intelligente Vernetzung in der Produktion – Ein Beitrag zum Zukunftsprojekt Industrie 4.0“ forciert wird. Deutschland wird sich zum weltweiten Leitanbieter für Cyber-Physische Systeme entwickeln.

Werkzeugkreislauf 4.0: Mit Transparenz zur Effizienz

Die zunehmende Anzahl an Produktvarianten und die immer häufigeren Produktwechsel führen dazu, dass in zerspanenden Fertigungen für die Herstellung von Komponenten, z.B. des Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus, immer mehr unterschiedliche Werkzeuge und immer öfter Werkzeugwechsel an den Bearbeitungsmaschinen erforderlich sind. Aufgrund der vielfältigen Tätigkeiten im Werkzeugkreislauf, wie die Werkzeugbeschaffung oder -montage, und deren Informationsbedarf, die für die Bereitstellung der Werkzeuge notwendig sind, ist der erforderliche Aufwand so stark gestiegen, dass die verursachten Kosten nahezu ein Viertel der Fertigungskosten ausmachen. Ein zentrales Hemmnis zur Realisierung bestehender Optimierungspotenziale ist die mangelnde Informationstransparenz im Werkzeugkreislauf aufgrund autarker, heterogener IT-Systeme, in denen werkzeugbezogene Daten gespeichert sind (z.B. Warenwirtschaftssysteme oder Maschinensteuerungen) oder schlicht der häufige Mangel an erforderlichen Daten, wie der aktuelle Einsatzort der Werkzeuge.


Ziel des Projektes:

Projektziel ist, ein Cyber-Physisches System Smart Tool, bestehend aus einem intelligenten Werkzeugsystem und dessen Interaktionspartnern im Werkzeugkreislauf, wie Bearbeitungsmaschine oder Werkzeugmessgerät, zu entwickeln. Das intelligente Werkzeugsystem ist dabei die Kerninnovation des Projekts.

Zentral für das Gelingen des Projektes, ist die wirtschaftliche Gestaltung des intelligenten Werkzeugsystems bestehend aus Werkzeughalter mit integrierter Sensorik, Logik- und Übertragungseinheiten sowie dem eigentlichen Werkzeug mit integriertem Speichermedium. Softwareseitig sind eine ereignisbasierte Informationsarchitektur sowie eine Schnittstelle in Form eines Embedded Systems zu entwickeln, um die Vernetzung des Werkzeugkreislaufs zu erzeugen.
Hierbei wird gleichzeitig ein Track&Trace-System realisiert, das eine Selbstoptimierung auf Basis der erzeugten Tracing-Daten im Bereich Werkzeuglogistik, z.B. Lagerortbestimmung für kurze Transportwege, und Werkzeugbeschaffung (Bestellstrategie) erlaubt. Zur Validierung des entwickelten Systems werden Demonstratoren hergestellt und in Pilotbereichen der Anwenderunternehmen getestet.

Das intelligente Werkzeugsystem fungiert im Werkzeugkreislauf als Kommunikations- und Informationspartner für die Interaktionspartner, so dass Planer aufwandsarm und zuverlässig wissen, wo und in welchem Zustand sich die Werkzeugsysteme in der Fertigung befinden. Die geschlossenen Informationslücken im vernetzten Werkzeugkreislauf werden genutzt, um eine automatisierte Entscheidungsunterstützung bei verschiedenen Tätigkeiten zu realisieren, wie der Auswahl einer optimalen Bestellstrategie. Eine Übertragung des Systems auf andere verschleißende Werkzeuge, wie Spritzgusswerkzeuge, oder für die Bereitstellung anderer Betriebsmittel in Unternehmen ist grundsätzlich möglich.

Kick-off-Meeting
Kick-off-Meeting (11/2013)

Projektpartner:

  • Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG, System Manufacturing
  • Siemens AG, Energy Sector, Fossil Power Generation Div
  • G├╝hring oHG, Forschung und Entwicklung
  • E. Zoller GmbH & Co. KG
  • Haimer GmbH
  • EINS GmbH
  • TU Darmstadt, IES (Integrierte Elektronische Systeme) & PTW (Produktions- management, Technologie und Werkzeug- maschinen)
Link zur Projekthomepage: www.smarttool-forschungsprojekt.de